Our volunteer team of organizing leaders work tirelessly to advocate for positive change in our district. We make up the SSP & SpEd Organizing Leaders Committee of the Denver Classroom Teachers Association, charged with building SSP & SpEd unity, power, and voice for advocacy and representation within DPS and DCTA, as well as advising the bargaining team regarding contract language relevant to the groups we represent.

DCTA Board of Directors

  • Robert Armagost, Secondary Special Educator - Sector C (2020-2022)

  • Amy DeFusco, Early Childhood Special Educator - Sector B (2021-2023)

  • Michelle Horwitz, Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP) - Itinerant Sector (2020-2022)

  • Amy Kalinchuk, Secondary Special Educator - Sector D (2021-2023)

  • Katherine Kopp, Secondary Special Educator - Sector B (2021-2023)

  • Emily Wytiaz, Educational Sign Language Interpreter (ESLI) - Itinerant Sector (2021-2023)

DCTA Representatives (2021-22)

  • Early Childhood Special Educators (ECSE):
    Sarah Foster

  • Itinerant Gifted & Talented Teachers (G/T):
    Janet Draper

  • Itinerant Special Educators:
    Justin Kirkland

  • Low Incidence Disability (LID) Team:
    Emily Wytiaz (ESLI)

  • Nurses:
    Merri Hoffman, Stacia McNeely

  • Occupational Therapists (OT) & Physical Therapists (PT):
    Susan Fortney, Sharon Lee (OTs)

  • Psychologists/Social Workers:
    Kelly Holmes (primary), Cassie Johnson, Jane Lineman, Shannon McKinney (School Psychologists)

  • School Counselors:
    Jillian Gleason

  • Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP) Team:
    Hannah Shippey, Morgan Jameson, Amanda Reed, Amanda Lisman, Hope Mellinger

  • TOSA/Peer Observer/Balarat:
    Rob Gould

DCTA Bargaining Team (2021-22)

  • Rob Gould, Special Educator - DCTA President

  • Jane Lineman, School Psychologist - Student Safety Coordinator

  • Amanda Lisman, Speech-Language Pathologist - Elementary

  • Michelle Horwitz, Speech-Language Pathologist - Bilingual Assessment Team

  • Ellen Petrila, Special Educator - Affective Needs Center-Based Program

  • Hillary Daniels, Special Educator - Elementary Mild/Moderate Needs

  • Lisa McDonald, Special Educator - Secondary Mild/Moderate Needs

  • Amy DeFusco, Special Educator - Early Childhood Education (Model 1)